Frequently Asked Questions

Is everything found in my basket certified organic?

YES! 100% certified organic without exception. All fruits and vegetables that we produce are certified organic by Québec Vrai. The farm has been certified organic since the very beginning of its operations in 1997. In addition, we only buy fruits and vegetables, and other products that are certified organic.

We are very punctilious in our purchasing process. Therefore, we do not buy fruits, vegetables or other products, even certified organic, from certain countries or certain farms when our own research does not allow us to be confident about the rigorous production and certification process. We put our expertise to work for you.

Where do the fruits & vegetables come from?

First and foremost, we are producers. We grow over 450 varieties of more than 53 species of fruits, vegetables and herbs (95% heirloom and ancient).

In the summer and fall, we essentially grow everything that is found in your baskets. If a production problem occurs, we will always purchase locally from other certified farms first. Only fruits and vegetables that cannot grow in Quebec are imported.

In the winter and spring, root and long conservation vegetables are grown on the farm and stored in an optimal environment to preserve their freshness and quality. For fresh produces, we favor buying locally grown products from certified organic greenhouses based on quality and quantities available. For products that are not available in Quebec, we buy from international organic suppliers. Then, during the cold winter months, fruits and quite a few vegetables are imported from certified organic suppliers in order to provide organic baskets with variety to our partners all year-round.

Eating locally grown organic to reduce pollution and protect the environment, YES it is paramount for us. Outside of the growing season, we also believe that eating fresh organic that comes from afar in less damaging to the environment and your health, even with transportation. Also, organic farming from afar also protects people, workers, soil and the environment in other countries. The whole locally grown argument in winter as well as summer vs the environmental cost of transportation makes little sense when you consider the following.

In season or outside the growing season, produce grown conventionally, here or anywhere, use polluting chemical fertilizers and pesticides. Also, these chemicals are mostly manufactured from oil. And many of these fertilizers and pesticides are manufactured in the US, some as far as the Gulf of Mexico in Texas. Furthermore, a fair amount of the oil used to manufacture these chemicals is transported from Alberta’s tar sands, and then transported back here to be used in the local farms. So, transport for transport, which do you think is better for the environment...

Finally, a local greenhouse heated with natural gas or oil produces at least, if not more, greenhouse gases than the transportation of certified organic fruits and vegetables.

How much does an organic basket cost?

We offer a variety of basket sizes at $25, $35, and $50. You can choose a basket containing only vegetables or a mix of fruits and vegetables. We also offer baskets containing only fruits for $15 and $25.

Each week, we suggest contents for the various baskets based on what is available according to the season. This allows us to promote and put forth produce grown on the farm first and then locally. If you do not make any changes to this suggested content, that’s what you will receive on your next delivery (a surprise basket...).

If, on the other hand, you decide to change items in your basket, by logging into your account and using our Market, you can change a few items or change everything. You control both the variety and the quantities in your basket. Therefore, your baskets are 100% customizable to meet your needs and preferences. The minimum order per delivery is 15$.

Also, whatever the value of the suggested basket you have selected, you are not bound to that amount when you make changes. You can choose more or less than that amount according to your needs of the week. You may also add fruits to a veggies only basket or veggies to a fruits only basket... The receipt of your basket will always adjust itself automatically according to your choices.

There are fruits & vegetables in my basket that I do not like or that I cannot eat (i.e. allergies or dietary restrictions)

When you sign up, you can input your allergies or dietary restrictions in the designated area in your account so that we can take the necessary precautions when preparing your baskets. In addition, you can customize your basket via our Market, you can simply add or remove fruits and vegetables that you do not want in your basket.

Can I customize my basket?

YES! During the registration process, you will choose a default basket format. You can change this format at any time. Every week, we suggest fruits and vegetables for each basket format to put forth produce from the farm first and then those locally grown. If the suggested basket is right for you or if you do not have time to customize it, it will be delivered as is it (a surprise basket). However, via our Market, you can add or remove fruits & vegetables from the suggested basket in order to fully customize it according to your needs (quantities) and preferences (variety). Therefore, your organic basket is 100% flexible and personalized.

When can I customize my basket?

The content of the suggested baskets are posted on our website every Friday evening preceding deliveries.

You can edit the content of your basket by logging into your account and to our Market from 7h00 am on Saturday to 12h00 pm (noon) on the Sunday preceding your delivery. An email reminding you of the market's opening hours is sent every Friday (you can disable this alert at any time).

Will I receive a reminder about my delivery?

You can view the delivery schedule for the entire year on our website. In addition, you will receive an email alert the day before your delivery (you can disable this alert at any time).

What happens when I go on vacation?

You can simply log into your account and enter the dates of your vacation (we strongly suggest you enter a period rather than just the date to ensure that your vacation period overlaps all delivery dates). You can define three holiday periods in advance. If you leave for an extensive period of time (e.g. snowbirds), you can stop your deliveries until further notice. During this downtime, your account will never be charged. You have until 12h00 pm (noon) on the Sunday preceding the delivery you want to cancel to do it, if not, your basket will be prepared, delivered and charged to your account.

Do you do home or office deliveries?

Yes, we do. There is an additional charge of $ 4.99 per home delivery. For office deliveries, we can help you organize a collective pick-up point to eliminate this extra fee. We prefer delivering to pick-up points to reduce energy consumption and our environmental impact. We currently have over 40 pick-up points on the South-Shore and on the island of Montreal. If you want to become or organize a pick-up point, contact us by email at info@jardinsdelamontagne.com or at 450 469-5358. We will help you and we can also go to your place for a group presentation.

What happens if I forget or can’t pick up my basket?

Unfortunately, it is impossible to replace your basket the following week or to deliver it to another pick-up point or at the farm (except if you have made such a request before the preceding Sunday). This is not due to unwillingness on our part, but space in the delivery trucks is limited, production is not necessarily the same the following week, and we do not have enough staff at the farm to greet customers picking up their baskets, which would result in delivering baskets 7 days a week. Believe us, we have experienced this in the past. It's frustrating for everyone.

However, your basket will not be wasted as it is given the same evening to a food bank in the area or to people in need. We would not be comfortable asking our volunteers who take care of the pick-up points to keep your baskets and distribute them outside delivery hours, for obvious reasons.

What happens if I cannot be present during the scheduled delivery hours?

HOME DELIVERY: If you cannot be home, please leave a large cooler (45 liters minimum with icepacks inside) easily accessible for the delivery driver so that we can drop off your basket. You can leave delivery instructions for the driver in the designated area in your account.

OFFICE DELIVERY: We recommend that you inform reception of our arrival and have cold storage bags or coolers (45 liters minimum with icepacks inside) available to keep your fruits and vegetables cool until you return home.

PICK-UP POINT: Have a family member or friend kindly pick your basket up for you!

Are there any registration, membership or cancellation fees?

There are no registration, membership or cancellation fees, regardless of the time of year or the duration of your membership.

If you paid by check, there is no charge to cancel your account. However, if you paid by credit card or by PayPal, there is a charge of 15$ to close your account.

Is your basket service available year-round?

Yes! We deliver organic baskets all year-round with the exception of two weeks during the holiday season in December. Please see the delivery schedule on our website for the exact dates of each delivery throughout the year.

Can I become a pick-up point or start one at work?

Yes! If you gather 6 to 8 people in one place: at work, on your street, daycare, housing co-op, etc., we will deliver to that location. The pick-up point can be private (e.g. only for parents and employees of a daycare) or it can be open to the public in a neighborhood store or in the garage of a private residence.

We are here to help you and we will be happy to give a presentation to your group or office members. Our software system can also manage a waiting list. When enough people are registered, we will let them know when the first delivery will take place. Feel free to contact us by email info@jardinsdelamontagne.com or at 450-469-5358 between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm, Monday to Friday.

Should I wash my basket’s vegetables and fruits?

Even though all the fruits and vegetables are certified organic (grown without any chemical pesticides), we recommend that you inspect your vegetables and transfer them to containers or perforated vegetables bags. The bags we use are not meant to be used for conservation. We also recommend you soak leafy vegetables like lettuces, spinach, etc. for ½ an hour in cold water, drying them, but not completely, before you refrigerate them. We suggest the best time to wash your produce is just before preparing and eating. Apart from those, wash everything else only when you are ready to use them. Fruits should always be kept in the refrigerator.

Do you have others questions?

Send us a message or contact us !

(450) 469.5358

info@jardinsdelamontagne.com

from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm from Monday to Friday.

Foire aux questions

Est-ce que tout ce qui se retrouve dans nos paniers est certifié biologique?

OUI! 100% certifié biologique sans exception. Tous les fruits et légumes que nous produisons sont certifiés biologiques par Québec Vrai. La ferme est certifiée biologique depuis ses débuts en 1997. De plus, nous achetons uniquement des fruits, légumes et d’autres produits qui sont également certifiés biologiques.

Nous sommes très pointilleux dans notre démarche d’achat. Par conséquent, nous n'achetons pas de fruits, légumes ou produits, même certifiés biologiques, en provenance de certains pays ou de certaines fermes, lorsque nos recherches personnelles ne nous permettent pas d'être confiants de la rigueur des processus de production et de certification. Nous mettons notre expertise à votre service.

D’où viennent les fruits et légumes qu’on retrouve dans nos paniers?

À la base, nous sommes producteurs. Nous cultivons plus de 450 variétés de 53 espèces de fruits, légumes et fines herbes (95% de variétés ancestrales). Durant l’été et l’automne, nous cultivons essentillement tous les légumes et certains fruits qui se retrouvent dans vos paniers. Si un problème de cultures se produit et que nous devons acheter chez d’autres producteurs, nous privilégions toujours les fermes certifiées biologiques locales. Seulement les fruits et les légumes plus exotiques, qui ne peuvent pas pousser au Québec, sont achetés d’ailleurs dans le monde.

Durant l’hiver et le printemps, nous avons cultivé, durant l’été, pour l’entreposage, les légumes de longue conservation, que vous retrouverez dans vos paniers. Pour les légumes frais, nous privilégions les serres locales certifiées en fonction de la qualité et des quantités disponibles. Pour les fruits et les légumes frais qui ne sont pas disponibles au Québec, nous achetons chez des fournisseurs internationaux certifiés biologiques. Par conséquent, pendant les mois d’hiver, les fruits et une partie des légumes qui se retrouvent dans vos paniers sont importés d’ailleurs afin de vous donner accès à une grande variété de fruits et légumes certifiés biologiques à l’année longue.

Manger local bio pour réduire la pollution et protéger l'environnement, OUI c’est primordial pour nous. Hors saison, nous croyons également que manger frais bio qui vient d’ailleurs est moins dommageable pour l’environnement et votre santé, même avec le transport. De plus, l’agriculture biologique d’ailleurs protège les gens, les travailleurs, les terres et l’environnement là-bas aussi.

En saison ou hors saison, les produits issus de l'agriculture conventionnelle d’ici ou d’ailleurs, utilisent des engrais et pesticides chimiques polluants. De plus, ceux-­‐ci sont, en grande majorité, fabriqués de pétrole. Une grande part de ces engrais et pesticides chimiques sont manufacturés aux États-­‐Unis, aussi loin que les raffineries du sud du Texas avec un apport non-négligeable en pétrole provenant des sables bitumineux de l'Alberta, le tout devant être transporté de nouveau jusqu'ici.

Enfin, une serre locale chauffée au gaz naturel ou à l’huile produit au moins autant sinon plus de gaz à effet de serre que le transport desfruits et légumes certifiés biologiques.

Combien coûte un panier biologique?

Nous offrons différentes tailles de paniers, 25 $, 35 $ et 50 $ pour des paniers de légumes seulement ou dans une combinaison de fruits et de légumes. Nous offrons aussi des paniers de fruits seulement de 15$ et 25$.

Chaque semaine, nous suggérons les contenus des paniers en fonction de ce qui est disponible et de saison. Ceci nous permet de privilégier les produits de la ferme et les produits locaux en priorité. Si vous n’apportez pas de modification à ce contenu suggéré, c’est ce que vous receverez lors de la livraison (un panier surprise...).

Si vous décidez de changer des items à votre panier, en accédant à votre compte et en utilisant le Marché, vous pouvez changer quelques items ou tout changer. Vous contrôlez la variété et les quantités de votre panier. Vous pouvez donc personnaliser à 100% votre panier en fonction de vos besoins et préférences. La seule restriction, vous devez commander pour 15$ minimun par livraison.

De plus, peu importe le montant du format de panier que vous avez choisi, vous n’êtes pas tenus de modifier votre panier pour cette valeur seulement. Vous pouvez choisir en plus ou en moins selon vos besoins de la semaine. Vous pouvez même ajouter des fruits à un panier de légumes ou des légumes à un panier de fruits... Le prix de votre panier s’ajuste automatiquement selon vos choix.

Mon panier contient des fruits & légumes que je n’aime pas ou que je ne peux pas manger (allergie ou restriction alimentaire)

Lors de votre inscription, vous pouvez, dans l'endroit désigné, nous faire part de vos allergies ou restrictions, afin que nous prenions les précautions nécessaires. De plus,comme il vous est possible de modifier vous-même votre panier dans le Marché, vous n’avez qu’à ajouter ou soustraire les fruits et légumes que vous ne voulez pas inclure dans votre panier.

Est-ce que je peux choisir le contenu de mon panier?

OUI! Lors de votre inscription, vous choisirez un format de panier de référence. Vous pouvez changer ce format en tout temps. Chaque semaine, nous suggérons un contenu pour chacun de ces formats de panier afin de mettre en valeur les produits de la ferme et autres produits locaux. Si le contenu vous convient ou si vous n'avez pas le temps de le consulter, il vous sera livré tel quel(panier surprise). Par contre, en accédant à votre compte et au Marché, vous pouvez ajouter ou soustraire ce que vous voulez en fonction de vos besoins (quantités) et vos préférences (diversité). Par conséquent, votre panier biologique est 100% flexible et personnalisable.

Quand puis-je choisir le contenu de mon panier?

Le contenu des paniers suggérés est généralement affiché en milieu de soirée le vendredi précédant la livraison.

Vous pouvez modifier le contenu de votre panier en accédant à votre compte et au Marché, du samedi matin 7h00 au dimanche 12h00pm (midi), la fin de semaine précédant votre livraison. Un courriel vous rappelant les heures d'ouverture du marché vous est envoyé les vendredis (vous pouvez désactiver cette alerte en tout temps).

Vais-je avoir un avis pour me faire penser d’aller chercher mon panier?

Vous pouvez consulter l'horaire des livraisons (une année d'avance) sur notre site internet. De plus, vous recevez une alerte courriel la journée précédant votre prochaine livraison (vous pouvez désactiver cette alerte en tout temps).

Qu'arrive-t-il si je pars en vacances?

Vous pouvez accéder à votre compte et choisir les dates de vos vacances dans le calendrier. Nous suggérons fortement de mettre des périodes (ex du vendredi au vendredi) plutôt que simplement la date afin de vous assurer que la période de vacances chevauche toutes les journées de livraison. Vous pouvez ainsi définir d'avance 3 périodes de vacances. Si vous partez pour longtemps (ex. les snowbirds), vous pouvez suspendre vos livraisons jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Durant ces périodes d'arrêt, votre compte ne sera jamais chargé. Vous avez jusqu’au dimanche 12h00 (midi) précédant la date de la livraison que vous voulez suspendre pour le faire, sinon votre panier sera préparé, livré et débité de votre compte.

Est-ce que vous avez un service de livraison à domicile ou au bureau?

Oui! Il y a un frais supplémentaire de 4.99$ par livraison pour la livraison à domicile. Pour le bureau, nous pouvons vous aider à organiser un point de chute collectif afin d’éliminer ce frais supplémentaire. Nous privilégions la livraison aux points de chute pour réduire la dépense énergétique, donc l'impact environnemental. Nous avons présentement plus de 40 points de chute sur la Rive-Sud et sur l’île de Montréal. Si vous voulez devenir ou organiser un point de chute, contactez-nous par courriel info@jardinsdelamontagne.com ou au 450-469-5358. Nous vous aiderons et pouvons nous déplacer pour une présentation de groupe.

Qu’arrive-t-il si j'oublie de venir chercher mon panier?

Malheureusement, il nous est impossible de le remplacer la semaine suivante ou de vous le livrer à un autre point de chute ou à la ferme (sauf si vous en faites la demande préalable avant le dimanche). Ce n'est pas de la mauvaise volonté de notre part, mais la production pour une semaine donnée n'est pas nécessairement la même la semaine suivante et à la ferme, nous n'avons pas le personnel pour répondre aux personnes qui viendraient chercher des paniers, ce qui reviendrait à livrer des paniers 7 jours par semaine, n'importe quand. Croyez-nous, nous en avons fait l'expérience. C'est frustrant pour tous.

Cependant, votre panier n'est pas perdu puisqu'il est donné le soir même à une banque alimentaire de la région ou à des gens dans le besoin. Nous serions très malvenus de demander aux responsables des points de chute qui acceptent de rendre service bénévolement en distribuant les paniers, de garder des paniers, et d’en distribuer en dehors des heures de livraison, pour des raisons évidentes.

Qu’arrive-t-il si je dois m'absenter durant la période prévue de livraison?

A DOMICILE: Si vous ne pouvez pas être à la maison, nous vous invitons à laisser une grande glacière (45 litres minimum avec des banquises à l'intérieur), disponible afin que nous puissions y laisser votre panier. Vous pouvez laisser des instructions de livraison pour le livreur dans le champ désigné dans votre compte.

AU BUREAU: Nous vous recommandons d’informer la réception de notre venue et d'avoir des sacs de stockage de froid flexibles ou une glacière (45 litres minimum avec des banquises à l'intérieur) pour garder vos fruits et légumes frais jusqu'à votre retour à la maison.

AU POINT DE CHUTE: Vous pouvez demander à un membre de votre famille ou à un ami d’aller chercher votre panier!

Y-a-t‘ il des frais d'adhésion, de membre ou d'annulation?

Il n'y a aucun frais d'adhésion, de membre ou d'annulation, peu importe le moment de l'année ou la durée de votre adhésion.

Si vous avez payé par chèque, il n'y a aucun frais pour annuler votre compte. Toutefois, si vous payez par carte de crédit ou par PayPal, il y a une charge de fermeture de compte de 15$.

Est-ce que votre service de paniers est disponible à l’année longue?

Oui! Nous livrons des paniers sur l'ensemble de l'année à l'exception de 2 semaines aux temps des fêtes en décembre. SVP consultez l'horaire des livraisons pour les dates précises de chaque livraison sur notre site internet.

Est-ce que je peux devenir point de chute ou en partir un à mon travail?

Oui! Si vous regroupez 6 à 8 personnes à la même place: au travail, sur la rue, à la garderie, la coop d'habitation, etc., nous pouvons livrer à cet endroit. Le point de chute peut être privé (seulement pour les parents et employés d'une garderie, par exemple) ou ouvert à tous dans un magasin de quartier ou dans le garage d'une maison.

Nous sommes là pour vous aider et nous serons heureux de nous déplacer, sur demande, pour faire une présentation. Notre système de gestion peut également créer et gérer une liste d'attente. Lorsque le nombre de personnes est atteint, nous avertissons les gens sur la liste de la date et du lieu de leur première livraison. N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous par courriel info@jardinsdelamontagne.com ou au 450 469-5358 de 9h00 à 17h00 du lundi au vendredi.

Est-ce qu’on doit laver les légumes de nos paniers?

Même si tous les fruits et légumes sont certifiés biologiques (cultivés sans pesticides chimiques), il est préférable de les inspecter et de les laver. Vous pouvez également les transférer dans un contenant ou un sac à légumes approprié car ceux que nous fournissons ne sont pas faits pour la conservation. Pour tout ce qui est feuillu (ex. laitue, épinards, etc.) nous suggérons un bain d’eau froide d’environ une demi-heure, essorer, mais pas complètement, et un sac à légumes approprié avant de les placer au frigo.

Vous avez une autre question?

Envoyez-nous un message ou contactez-nous !

(450) 469.5358

info@jardinsdelamontagne.com

de 9h00 à 17h00 du lundi au vendredi